Commencing with the Elections in 2020, the primary election shall be held on the date of the primary election of the State of Arizona. The general election shall be held on the date of the general election of the State of Arizona.

  • General Election is held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November

The Council, or under certain circumstances, and the City Clerk, may also call special elections, when needed, in accordance with State Law.

Elections are conducted in accordance with the Arizona Revised Statutes, Titles 16 and 19 and the City Code of Litchfield Park, Chapter 2.

Collection of signatures may begin when the Statement of Interest has been filed with the City Clerk prior to receiving the Candidate Packet.

The Mayor and Council serve at-large, representing all citizens. The Mayor and Council serve four (4) year terms; there are no term limits and members can be elected to consecutive terms of office. Litchfield Park municipal elections are non-partisan.

Qualified Elector  A.R.S.§ 16-121(A)
A) A person who is qualified to register to vote pursuant to A.R.S. §16-101(A) and who is properly registered to vote shall, if they are at least eighteen (18) years of age on or before the date of the election, be deemed a qualified elector and who has subsequently registered in Litchfield Park, and is otherwise qualified. In addition, a qualified elector shall also be a resident of the City for at least one (1) year prior to any Primary, General or Special City Election. (A.R.S. §9-232(A).

Election Results
Election results for prior elections currently are not available on the website, but may be obtained from the City Clerk’s Office by submitting a public records request.